Kampa Island is located in Malá Strana (Lesser Town) and separates it from the picturesque mill race – way – the Devil's Stream. The area of the island is 2.65 hectares. This is an artificial island.
For a long time, Kampa has not had any name and was simply called the Island. The origin of the name Kampa is not entirely clear, it appears only in the second half of 18th century. It can be derived from the Latin campus (flat field, plain) or from the old Czech word “zákampí“ (shaded area), but perhaps also linked with the name of Tycho Gansgeb of Kampa – a townsman who owned a house here in 17th century.
The earliest written mention of Kampa dates back to 1169. The natural levees and fills, especially after the great fire of Malá Strana and Prague Castle in 1541, helped to slowly raise the island. At the beginning Kampa became an island of gardens. From 15th century mills and mill gardens were built there. The Sova's Mills now houses the famous Kampa Museum. In 1884, the island became accessible from the Charles Bridge, by a new staircase. After World War II, the gardens became interconnected and formed into a public park.
Moreover, there are more gardens, such as the Odkolkovská Garden and the adjoining Kaiserstein Garden. Today's Liechtenstein Palace is located there and right next to it there is the so-called Werich's house that was inhabited by Jan Werich himself, but also earlier by for example Josef Dobrovský and other celebrities. Near Sova's Mills there is a small house, which originally belonged to a ferryman; the house now hosts a fish restaurant. Also noteworthy is the inhabitant of the house At the Golden Scissors, the painter and illustrator Adolf Kašpar.
We will take you to the Kampa Island on one of our unique small boats on hybrid gear, such as Šárka boat.